(Clare)

I didn’t really go into depth explaining my concept so I’m going to give you a little more insight into it. With strong inspiration from designer Alexander Wang’s street wear aesthetic and an imperative element of luxury for the ‘future’ component of the brief, I came up with the concept: Street Luxe. I wanted to really start exploring and refining my own aesthetic.

This image is the one that sums up my concept perfectly. I just can't find where I got it from, but it isn't my own.

This image is the one that sums up my concept perfectly. I just can't find where I got it from, but it isn't my own.

Street Luxe – An urban street provocative ideal blended with feminine elegance.

Alexander Wang and his muse Erin Wasson

Alexander Wang and his muse Erin Wasson

I did some further research to add more meaning to my designs, placing the concept under the notion of a woman’s relationship with fashion. The woman, since the beginning of time, has been associated with fashion and beauty, and always will be. On the one hand she enjoys adorning herself and seeks the attention of men, she takes pleasure in being desired and endeavours to be desirable. And on the other, she is a slave to beauty, she is “required by society to make herself an erotic object” and she cannot escape this stereotype (Simone de Beauvoir in The Second Sex).

Georg Simmel (philosopher and academic writer, see "Adornment" in The Rise of Fashion), Simone de Beauvoir (author and philosopher), Kirsten Dunst as Marie Antoinette - excessive beauty still interests society now

Georg Simmel (philosopher and academic writer, see "Adornment" in The Rise of Fashion), Simone de Beauvoir (author and philosopher), Kirsten Dunst as Marie Antoinette - excessive beauty still interests society now

Either way women are permanently tied to appearance. This idea of the ‘erotic object’ and being bound works in with the provocation aspect of my concept. When combining this idea with swimwear, a picture forms of an extremely desirable woman, a siren, a mermaid, which also makes reference back to Annette Kellerman and her likeness to a mermaid.

 

”]Three different mermaids, all with reference to beauty and seduction. Annette Kellerman the Million Dollar Mermaid, 'A Mermaid' William Waterhouse 1905, Ralph Burch 'Martini Mermaid' [pin up mermaid]This again brings me back to the photo below and this idea of the mermaid and the sea which lead me to ropework in the beginning and also happens to be an emerging trend.

Photograph by Sue Duffy

Photograph by Sue Duffy

It is not however all seduction and bondage, to align with the brief a certain classic elegance must be achieved. This is where the luxe element comes in. With clean cut lines, silhouettes to suit a variety of body shapes, and of course the use of divine black wool-lycra jersey, a feminine elegance emerges and luxury and street unite.

Ropework also lead me to explore knots and both signify the servitude of women to adornment, beauty and fashion – they’re permanently tied to it, a form of bondage, an erotic object.

A woman is bound to fashion like a mermaid to her tail (www.thecontrolenthusiast.com/?m=200712)

A woman is bound to fashion like a mermaid to her tail (www.thecontrolenthusiast.com/?m=200712)

Beautiful bondage, talk about provocative! By Bruno Dayan I think (http://community.livejournal.com/ru_glamour/2368245.html?#cutid1)

Beautiful bondage, talk about provocative! By Bruno Dayan I think (http://community.livejournal.com/ru_glamour/2368245.html?#cutid1)

There is also a bondage trend, I'm using rope to be a bit different. Alexander Wang, Narciso Rodriguez, Thakoon, Rodarte (SS09)

There is also a bondage trend, I'm using rope to be a bit different. Alexander Wang, Narciso Rodriguez, Thakoon, Rodarte (SS09)

And here is one of the finished but I’ll do another blog to show more detail

The mannequin doesn't have a realistic crotch so I cut it out.

The mannequin doesn't have a realistic crotch so I cut it out.

One response to “

  1. Angela Leggett

    This is actually Clare, just logged in as Ange. I forgot something: Dean often referred to the padded twist as reminding him of intestines. Which made me think and it is kind of like intestines in that my concept of the permanent link of women with fashion is a part of us (women) something that is buried deep inside us throughout history, and will be there for as long as our world and culture go on.

Leave a Reply

