Start your engines!

Sewing MachinesIt’s slightly less than a week until swimsuits and patterns are due!

So, since we’ve last spoke, what have I achieved?

Pleating. Lots and lots of pleating. Observe:

First, I took a MASSIVE piece of fabric and marked the pleating lines on it. Over and over again, line after line, of a 2.2cm gap, then a 1cm gap, then a 2.2cm gap and on and on and on and on...
First, I took a MASSIVE piece of fabric and marked the pleating lines on it. Over and over again, line after line, of a 2.2cm gap, then a 1cm gap, then a 2.2cm gap and on and on and on and on…
Cop an eyeful at all of those chalk lines...
Cop an eyeful at all of those chalk lines… I pleated the wool by following these lines, and…
My big pleated piece of fabric, woot.
…finally (after HOURS and HOURS I swear) had my big pleated piece of fabric, yar!
I hung the pleated wool overnight so that the fabric could naturally stretch and give a bit... It looks kind of cool hanging like that hey? Bit like a modern Alexander Calder
I hung the pleated wool overnight so that the fabric could naturally stretch and give a bit… It looks kind of arty hanging like that hey? Bit like a modern Alexander Calder. I would call it Le Pain & Torture.

Truly, that’s all I can mention about pleating without relapsing into a sweaty, shaky mess at the thought…

More from me laterz!

P.S Here’s a peek at the shape of my swimsuit. Trust me, it’ll look MUCH better in the black wool (and especially without the foul orange colour)

ShapeIn my next post I’ll let you know how I got to this point of construction, but for now uni calls

One response to “Start your engines!

  1. way to bust out some mad photographs

Leave a Reply

