creating

fleshI started creating the pattern for flesh as it was my one of my favourite designs.I felt a connection to the design as well as to the drawing I created for the design board

flesh1Working from my technical drawings I used the technique of drawing onto an already made base swim suit then cutting out the panel lines and tracing the pattern of these cut outs. I have never used this technique of drawing straight onto a toile. It was hard to get my head around it at first but I got nice patterns in the end.
img_8453 This is a sample I made in blue from these patterns
img_8868
I soon then started to try and attempt to add the stripes of binding to achieve the effect of my design.
It was EXTREMELY difficult and almost near impossible, I did create one but it was hideous
I decided to embark on a new design, one that was more asymmetrical and had more interesting fabric applications, which was what started my whole design process.
replication replication became my new focus. This design is symmetrical, has interesting design lines and involves some of the painting processes I experimented with in my fabric laboratory. This design is more structered than the squigglely lines of flesh. I think that creating this piece will be more rewarding and satisfying as the end result will be more in tune with my concept. replication1

Leave a Reply

