Don’t rain on my paraaaaaaaade!

It seems a bit odd to be sewing swimwear while it’s torrential outside, but as I did a demented dash across a busy road while wearing slippery shoes and without looking both ways I serenely made my way to the studio, I came face-to-face with a “school of swimming suit-wearers”…

Relevant, <i>non?

Relevant, non?

The artwork – called “Sink or Swim” – is by Penelope Cain, a Sydney-based artist, and it reflects “the migration of city workers travelling through the suburb”. For more information please visit the QUT Creative Industries website at http://www.creativeindustries.qut.edu.au/

I especially love the connection she’s made between the words “swim” and “suit”; it would have made a really great theme. Now why didn’t I think of that?

Oh I dunno, probably because I was busy looking at pictures of SAUCY ROBOTS IN SWIMWEAR! 

Hajime Sorayama

Hajime Sorayama

These illustrations are by Japanese artist Hajime Sorayama (www.sorayama.net – the site is a bit naughty, so heed my warning) and are inspired  by a mix of pin-up and, well, robots…

As I’ve previously mentioned, I like to constantly find inspiration relevant to my theme – it keeps me  thinking as I’m unpicking, fabric-cutting and doing the most menial of jobs involved in the creative process.

For example, I saw Watchmen the other day, a film set in an alternate reality which strongly reflects the contemporary world of the 1980s. In it one of the costumed vigilantes – Silk Spectre II – wears an amazing yellow, futuristic PVC-leotard. 

Although I doubt it’s entirely practical for crime-fighting and such…

Silk Spectre II

Dear God, please don't let anyone think this is appropriate this Halloween...

I think that’s enough inspiration for one day, onto the pattern-making and sewing!

Since we last spoke, I have:

1. Determined where the cut of the "brief" should be

1. Determined where the cut of the "brief" should be

2. Applied this to my pattern

2. Applied this to my pattern

3. Drawn and cut the "curved piece" of my pattern

3. Drawn and cut the "curved piece" of my pattern

4. Had a nice chat to Lucy

4. Had a nice chat to Lucy

5. Agonised over how I'm going to pleat the curve

5. Agonised over how I'm going to pleat the curve

5. Took a different approach to pleating... more agony

6. Took a different approach to pleating... more agony

Eventually I sorted out the pleating – thanks to a “just SEW the damn pleats in Sophie” comment – and made up the bottom half of my swimsuit (minus the leg) in the black..

Ta da!

Ta da!

Well, that’s it from me! I think its best if I knock-up a detailed To Do list before Thursdays class to maximise the second last class we have (argh!)
Farewell!

One response to “Don’t rain on my paraaaaaaaade!

  1. omg (oh my god) i totes (totally) literal lolled. fyi (for your infomation) that means (literally laughed out loud)

    kthxby (okay thanks goodbye)

Leave a Reply

