Getting there….

So with a lot of experimentation I am on my way to completing a sample garment which seems to have undergone some accidental, yet significantly positive changes to the design, or so I think….which is why I’m calling upon all your opinions. So I originally was going to have the pleated panel on both sides, however they did not turn out as well as I had hoped in the stretch fabric, so I wanted to try some other experimental alternatives. Therefore, I came up with the  idea to try using straps made of binding held by a ring with the skin showing through as per the right hand side of the image. However, upon experimentation I began to like this asymmetric look, which I thought was tied together well by the sun ray pleating on the left because I attempted to follow the same lines. This is the initial rough sample of this concept, what do you think? Do you like it asymmetric or would it be more aesthetically appealing if I chose to stick with the same side panel on both sides? would love to hear your thoughts…………………………………………

imgp2387

The subtle pleating on the left side panel……..

imgp23593

Vs the Strips……or both..HELP, I just can’t decide…………

imgp2380

Trying to work out how I want these individual panels to sit, thought it might be nice to give random panels some texturing……………..

imgp2385

Experimenting with the back view………..

imgp2389

ahhhh………..Decisions…………

One response to “Getting there….

  1. Hey Shenaz, it’s actually Clare I’m just logged in as Ange… I really LOVE the ring and the bindings, the asymmetry. The pleated panel is also really nice but yeh I agree it’s too much with both, I would be inclined to have the one side with the ring/binding thing and the other just the normal leghole with an exquisite fit. Sometimes its hard to know when to stop hey! you could so easily make two swimsuits just by switching the hip panels around. But I like the binding strip idea.

Leave a Reply

