The story begins to unravel

Clare…

Hello! And I finally found my way on here J

I went with the concept of ‘Street Luxe’ in an attempt to really start to develop my own aesthetic. Alexander Wang has been a huge influence in this; I love his idea of this clean, classic and refined silhouette meeting an urban street provocative ideal. Of course I will find my very own style but it’s definitely a starting point. And I worked this idea in to the woollen mermaids brief as it asks us to take the clean and classic and pump innovation into it.

The idea of the mermaid and the sea lead me to ropework.

The idea of the mermaid and the sea lead me to ropework.

The whole idea of a mermaid and the sea (as well as WGSN trends) lead me to explore ropework, macramé, knitting and crochet. I then started to think about how to incorporate it into the construction and flattering design lines of the swimsuit.

I’ll make a note here: I looked into where the swimsuit has been (history – very intriguing) and where it is going. The one major trend I discovered is creating a range of swimsuits to suit all body shapes. I took this and created my designs, finally deciding on two – one that covered up and one that revealed. (I continued on with the one which reveals – more of a challenge!). Swimsuits for the 21st Century here I come!

Some links to inspiration (I like the idea of a muse, or two, or three, but with the same look):

http://www.calikartel.com/dan-martensen/ Alexander Wang’s muse, Erin Wasson

http://prettyguideofart.blogspot.com/ A blog which (at the moment) has a lot of really relevant images to my concept, particularly one editorial from photographer Hedi Slimane featuring model, Sasha Pivovarova in Simplement Couture, April Vogue Paris 2008. She is a good example of a muse.

 

My concept board, I used the idea of the muse.

My concept board, I used the idea of the muse.

I will leave you with this for now  – more soon though! I need to catch up! And I have PLENTY in store, don’t even worry about that.

One response to “The story begins to unravel

  1. I pay a quick visit day-to-day some web pages and information sites to read articles, except this blog offers quality based writing.

Leave a Reply

