Design Journey….

Hello all…hope you are all having an amazing time watching everyone’s miraculous design journeys come to fruition, and oh what a journey it has been……..nonetheless severely sleep deprived/ indulging in countless coffees and red bulls, we are trudging on….

Sorry for the lack of contact but this blog is really making me question if I have any technological skills, I like to maintain ‘the its not me its the computer’ routine….no, but seriously I swear it is. Eventually several hours and days later, I have finally mastered this mysterious ‘blogging’ force which seems to be the ‘IT’ thing plaguing the realm of technology, hence stay tuned I will be blogging away from now on……

Ok so to recap, I believe I provided you all with basic insight into my inspiration for the swimwear collection I designed ‘Metamorphosis’. In continuing with this theme I developed a series of designs symbolic of the process of metamorphosis itself – from catepillar to butterfly. But as my previous post indicates there is a deeper exploratory meaning, highlighting the diametrically opposed relationship between the catepillar (the dull drudgery of life amidst economic and environmental turmoil) and the butterfly alluding to the notions of freedom and a new world perspective. In order for you to understand my design development and inspiration I have included some designs, symbolic of key steps within the metamorphosis cycle. The first image was representative of the egg stage.

The first stage of the metamorphosis cycle

The first stage of the metamorphosis cycle

This image depicts a half structured garment juxtaposed against a wing like protrusion, symbolic of the chrysallis stage of the cycle.

The chrysallis stage - butterfly wings emerging

The chrysallis stage - butterfly wings emerging

This was the design I eventually chose to continue to construct, however there have been slight changes…..a slight integration between this design and the next one you will see, which focuses on the structural design lines from a butterfly. For the following designs, research examined the intricate patterns, skeletal structures, and overall formation of a butterfly.

Representing the physical transformation from catepillar to butterfly

Representing the physical transformation from catepillar to butterfly

Representative of butterfly - structural lines

Representative of butterfly - structural lines

p10001211

Hope you enjoyed a glimpse into my design journey……………stay tuned………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

