Sunday Funday

Getting the motivation to do anything productive on a Sunday afternoon other than drinking tea and reading the papers is an achievement, so heading into the studio to finish my toile was a colossal effort. Especially when the little man follows you there and is determined to make you sew everything inside-out, back-to-front and upside down a trillion times before you get it right. Of course it is his fault and not the fact my I lost Brian last night to a mojito (or 10).

But I was determined to not let him, or the lack of Brians company defeat me and finish my swimsuit.

So list of things still to do were:
– make and insert another breast piece
– bone front
– elasticate legs and back
– finish with top stitch

My orignal idea for the toile was to only sew one breast piece in and leave the other one, so when on the model i could sample different shaped/ directional pieces. But after speaking to my lovely fashion comrades, I decided to run with the asymmetrical shape/direction.

After stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking, stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking, I finally had the breast piece attached in the right way. Haha little man!

success!

success!

Like my relationship with Brian, the Elasticator and I are a bit touch and go. Somedays we are a match made in heaven, other times Im ready to break all of his needles. Sticking to the theme of my afternoon, of course we chose today not to get along. But once again, after stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking,stitching, unpicking, restitching, unipicking, I succeeded! My swimsuit was now fully elasticated, and evenly too!

With my afternoon going the way it was, I almost considered coming home and leaving the top stitching until Tuesday morning, but I would been really unsatisfied, and I thought I’d come too far to leave without the gratification of finishing my toile.

I chose to top stitch using the zig zagger. I thought that this stuck to my theme better than just the straight double, and zig zag is far jazzier than a straight line! I sat down at the machine and prepared myself for the worst. I envisioned having to explain to Dean and Helen Monday morning about how the machine went crazy and ruined my suit and how I then ruined the machine. I put my foot down and took and deep breath. But it was magical! She is a beauty of a machine and worked in harmony with my suit and I.

Voila! A completed toile! And a little man with a bruised ego! front-shot1

Now one other thing I have to ask before I have a much needed nap, is which way I should insert the breast pieces. Im not sure which way I want to make the eye move around the body, left to right or right to left???

what do you think?

what do you think?

hmmmm decisions decisions decisions!
x x x

Leave a Reply

