MY CONCEpT

After reading ‘Architecture of man and woman’ and looking at amazing photographs of the skeletal system and the nervous system, I decided that this would be my concept.

Anatomical Architecture is about the unknown that is what we own

I’m kind of obsessed with this body that I possess. Not knowing much about the inner workings of this body fascinates me

I decided to look through and in the body for inspiration.

photographs taken by myself

photographs taken by myself

Further research allowed me to find a reading by Michel Foucault called ‘UTOPIAN BODY’ in the book ‘Sensorium : embodied experience, technology, and contemporary art (2006)’. The reading blew me away. It describes the different utopias that exist in and around the body. The utopia of the soul, of the deceased body, of the invisibilities and visibilities of the body, the utopian actor that the body is. It was a beautiful reading, lyrical, with sweeping paragraphs that lead me through the wonders of the body. Allowed myself to understand the magnificent ‘thing’ that it is my body.
Print
He stated “FOR ME TO BE A UTOPIA, IT IS ENOUGH THAT I BE A BODY”

“Utopia is a place outside all places, but it is a place where I will have a body without a body, a body that will be beautiful, limpid, transparent, luminous, speedy, colossal in its power, infinite in its duration. Untethered, invisible, protected – always transfigured.” (Sensorium: embodied experience, technology, and contemporary art 2006).

These are my concept board

conecept-board2dsconceptboardvbc

One response to “MY CONCEpT

  1. Good job. It is a nice design, I would like to see it in white or pink.

Leave a Reply

