A New Dark Age…

Ok so here I am…finally…

And in the beginning there was….NOTHING!. Absolutely nothing. Been given this brief my initial thoughts lacked excitement. Swimwear!?

I began quite obviously with history based research which in no way enthralled or inspired me. A big beleiver in gathering my research from a variety of sources, it soon became evident that there are many overlapping trends occurring at this moment which not only engross the fashion sector.

MINIMIAL SCULPTURE

GEOMETRIC GRAPHICAL FROMS

FUTURISTIC FRIVOLITY

SUSTAINABLY FRIENDLY

These were just some of the key trends I found.

My research took me then on another notion, when  i found a quote by one of my many sheroes, Dame Vivienne Westwood.

” Choose to rebel against the mainstream, embrace controversy and change as we enter a New Dark Age that builds a sustainable bridge between the past and the future, orchestrating an emboldened vision of a proggressive Future Earth…”

This quote absolutely moved me…it accompanied so well my trend research as well as what I personally believe in.

This powerful  quote was the beginning of my designs…instead of concentrating on a concept/theme, i chose to design based on what such a person with such characteristics would wear.

 

The above images are of my concept board, and of my final nine designs…

The bottom design is the one that I am currently going ahead with…

I KNEW WE COULD ALL FIND A WAY TO MAKE SWIMWEAR INTERESTING!!!

stay tuned for patternmaking and production updates…

One response to “A New Dark Age…

  1. this story board rocks my world

    hail anna tinkerbell and her geometric boobies

Leave a Reply

