Thanks for staying tuned. Its awfully thoughtful of you.

So I have covered both Lingerie and Ellen Von Unwerth as sources of endless inspiration in my first post. And now, before I actually show you my progress in the studio where I have been busy sampling and pattern making, the second half of the inspiration tale to help you understand how the collection came together.

I spent some time exploring the world of Pin Up and was seduced by the ‘Damsel in Distress’ and ’50’s Housewife’ style images. For example…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Source: Pin Ups and Calender Girls

When I look at these pictures, I find myself wondering if the vulnerability of the subject is applied. If the woman is using her femininity to figuratively lure the object of her desire? Sexual manipulation perhaps?

Pin Up is focused on women being seductive and painting themselves in a way that can be enjoyed by the male audience. Which is the opposite way in which the subjects in Ellen Von Unwerth’s work are portrayed. I found this contrast interesting. At times women can be unaware of their sex appeal, naive to the attraction they instigate. However there are times when woman orchestrate their seduction, and use it to get what they want.

My collection is for these women. The women who are sexy when they try, and sexy when they don’t.

One response to “

  1. Hi Natashya,

    An interesting comment “…women being seductive and painting themselves in a way that can be enjoyed by the male audience.

    Do you consider this now also happens in reverse – men can now be the ‘watched’ not the ‘watcher’, as a result of shifts in masculinity.

    Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

