Design Development and Selection

When we were first given this project at beginning of semester I knew exactly how I would tackle it. I was keen to explore the Spring/Summer 09 trend of past cuts, shapes and details. With this in mind I continued down the path of 1960s poolside glamour.

It always assists me in the designing process when I have a muse in mind. I was inspired by images of luxurious beachside resorts, old hollywood glamour and thoughts of laying on a sundeck overlooking the beaches of St Tropez. It was here where my muse came to life, Brigitte Bardot.

As my designs developed, my aim was to evoke images of luxury and 60s glamour. And so the design process began…

With the design selection looming, it was quite clear early on which swimsuit I was keen to explore in the patternmaking process. Assymmetrical, seamless cut, 60s boyleg, and textured detailing new to swimwear. So…here it goes!

Leave a Reply

