A Very Good Place To Start

Before I head off on a tangent talking about padding breast cups and matching seams, I should start at the beginning, a very good place to start.

Having been given the brief for Woollen Mermaids at the end of last semester, I could have spent the entire summer on the beach researching first hand the type of swimwear people wear today. Only I didn’t, I jumped on a plane and spent my summer playing in the snow. The only swimwear I saw all summer were those in vintage markets around Europe. This factor influenced my designing for this project heavily.

I chose to focus my attention on the ‘tailoring’ of the swimsuits. The dart placement, the shape of the breast cup, panel lines and seam. I began to look at shapes within the suit and not at the suit itself.

I found this short film by Chuck Jones: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmSbdvzbOzY
I figured if Chuck Jones can make a 10 minute film about a dot, a line and a squiggle, then I should be able to make a collection of swimsuits based on the same idea….

3 responses to “A Very Good Place To Start

  1. Hi Maxine,

    The use of Chuck Jones short film (The Dot and the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics) was great. Did you know that it won the 1965 Academy Award for Animated Short Films.

    Dean

  2. Hi Maxine

    I love this film – although I feel much angst for Squiggle – hairy, coarse, mispronouncing his ‘L’s discarded for the very talented Line. Turning the suit inside out may yet unravel some ‘anarchy and sloth’.

Leave a Reply

